Arkansas Legal Resource Navigator

4-9-503. Name of debtor and secured party.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

4-9-503. Name of debtor and secured party.

4-9-503. Name of debtor and secured party. (a) A financing statement sufficiently provides the name of the debtor: (1) except as otherwise provided in paragraph (3), if the debtor is a registered organization or the collateral is held in a trust that is a registered organization, only if the financing statement provides the name that is stated to be the registered organization's name on the public organic record most recently filed with or issued or enacted by the registered organization's jurisdiction of organization which purports to state, amend, or restate the registered organization's name; (2) subject to subsection (f), if the collateral is being administered by the personal representative of a decedent, only if the financing statement provides, as the name of the debtor, the name of the decedent and, in a separate part of the financing statement, indicates that the collateral is being administered by a personal representative; (3) if the collateral is held in a trust that is not a registered organization, only if the financing statement: (A) provides, as the name of the debtor: (i) if the organic record of the trust specifies a name for the trust, the name specified; or (ii) if the organic record of the trust does not specify a name for the trust, the name of the settlor or testator; and (B) in a separate part of the financing statement: (i) if the name is provided in accordance with subparagraph (A)(i), indicates that the collateral is held in a trust; or (ii) if the name is provided in accordance with subparagraph (A)(ii), provides additional information sufficient to distinguish the trust from other trusts having one or more of the same settlors or the same testator and indicates that the collateral is held in a trust, unless the additional

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 4-9-503

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. A text match is a research starting point; applicability is not established.

Issuing source page ↗

Authority boundary: historical statutory source snapshot not current law.

Open the recorded source website ↗

Record provenance

Stable record: arkansas_code:legal_authorities:4-9-503
Source file: gov.ar.code.title.04.odt
Pages: Not recorded – Not recorded
Passage SHA-256: 92e624813a24dcd608420e0dfa6966a0c62a67c0d3afbe4a7def64b4ee860fd5

Source location: content.xml paragraph 10387

Stored source content

4-9-503. Name of debtor and secured party. (a) A financing statement sufficiently provides the name of the debtor: (1) except as otherwise provided in paragraph (3), if the debtor is a registered organization or the collateral is held in a trust that is a registered organization, only if the financing statement provides the name that is stated to be the registered organization's name on the public organic record most recently filed with or issued or enacted by the registered organization's jurisdiction of organization which purports to state, amend, or restate the registered organization's name; (2) subject to subsection (f), if the collateral is being administered by the personal representative of a decedent, only if the financing statement provides, as the name of the debtor, the name of the decedent and, in a separate part of the financing statement, indicates that the collateral is being administered by a personal representative; (3) if the collateral is held in a trust that is not a registered organization, only if the financing statement: (A) provides, as the name of the debtor: (i) if the organic record of the trust specifies a name for the trust, the name specified; or (ii) if the organic record of the trust does not specify a name for the trust, the name of the settlor or testator; and (B) in a separate part of the financing statement: (i) if the name is provided in accordance with subparagraph (A)(i), indicates that the collateral is held in a trust; or (ii) if the name is provided in accordance with subparagraph (A)(ii), provides additional information sufficient to distinguish the trust from other trusts having one or more of the same settlors or the same testator and indicates that the collateral is held in a trust, unless the additional information so indicates; (4) subject to subsection (g), if the debtor is an individual to whom this state has issued a driver's license that has not expired, only if the financing statement provides the name of the individual which is indicated on the driver's license; (5) if the debtor is an individual to whom paragraph (4) does not apply, only if the financing statement provides the individual name of the debtor or the surname and first personal name of the debtor; and (6) in other cases: (A) if the debtor has a name, only if the financing statement provides the organizational name of the debtor; and (B) if the debtor does not have a name, only if it provides the names of the partners, members, associates, or other persons comprising the debtor, in a manner that each name provided would be sufficient if the person named were the debtor. (b) A financing statement that provides the name of the debtor in accordance with subsection (a) is not rendered ineffective by the absence of: (1) a trade name or other name of the debtor; or (2) unless required under subsection (a)(6)(B), names of partners, members, associates, or other persons comprising the debtor. (c) A financing statement that provides only the debtor's trade name does not sufficiently provide the name of the debtor. (d) Failure to indicate the representative capacity of a secured party or representative of a secured party does not affect the sufficiency of a financing statement. (e) A financing statement may provide the name of more than one (1) debtor and the name of more than one (1) secured party. (f) The name of the decedent indicated on the order appointing the personal representative of the decedent issued by the court having jurisdiction over the collateral is sufficient as the name of the decedent under subdivision (a)(2). (g) If this state has issued to an individual more than one driver's license of a kind described in subdivision (a)(4), the one that was issued most recently is the one to which subdivision (a)(4) refers. (h) In this section, the name of the settlor or testator means: (1) if the settlor is a registered organization, the name that is stated to be the settlor's name on the public organic record most recently filed with or issued or enacted by the settlor's jurisdiction of organization which purports to state, amend, or restate the settlor's name; or (2) in other cases, the name of the settlor or testator indicated in the trust's organic record.

Cross-references

Connections may be documented source relationships, shared citations or nearby passages. Each explains its basis; a connection alone does not establish applicability to your situation.

No explicit source connection was found. This does not mean there are no relevant authorities.