Arkansas Legal Resource Navigator

27-19-603. Determination and notice of amount of security required.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-19-603. Determination and notice of amount of security required.

27-19-603. Determination and notice of amount of security required. (a)(1) Within thirty (30) days after an accident has occurred, and provided the accident has been reported to the Office of Driver Services within thirty (30) days, the office shall determine the amount of security which shall be deposited to satisfy any judgment for damages resulting from the accident as may be recovered against each driver or owner based on an amount equal to the minimum limits specified in § 27-19-605. The amount of security required to be deposited shall be: (A) If the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to one (1) person, twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); (B) If the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, fifty thousand dollars ($50,000); (C) If the accident resulted in the injury to or the destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident, twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); or (D) If the accident resulted in both bodily injury or death and in the destruction of property, a combination of the amounts specified in subdivisions (a)(1)(A)-(C) of this section. (2) Determination shall not be made with respect to drivers or owners who are exempt under provisions of any other section of this chapter from the requirements as to security or suspension of motor vehicle registration and driving privilege. (b)(1) The office shall determine the amount of security deposit required of any person upon the basis of the reports or other information submitted. The office's determination shall be limited to whether the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to one (1) person or two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident or to injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident,

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-19-603

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. A text match is a research starting point; applicability is not established.

Issuing source page ↗

Authority boundary: historical statutory source snapshot not current law.

Open the recorded source website ↗

Record provenance

Stable record: arkansas_code:legal_authorities:27-19-603
Source file: gov.ar.code.title.27.odt
Pages: Not recorded – Not recorded
Passage SHA-256: da9c8a40fdc3754446d88e84e074a57a111fe999a2dd519f8880402f187178be

Source location: content.xml paragraph 8385

Stored source content

27-19-603. Determination and notice of amount of security required. (a)(1) Within thirty (30) days after an accident has occurred, and provided the accident has been reported to the Office of Driver Services within thirty (30) days, the office shall determine the amount of security which shall be deposited to satisfy any judgment for damages resulting from the accident as may be recovered against each driver or owner based on an amount equal to the minimum limits specified in § 27-19-605. The amount of security required to be deposited shall be: (A) If the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to one (1) person, twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); (B) If the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, fifty thousand dollars ($50,000); (C) If the accident resulted in the injury to or the destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident, twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000); or (D) If the accident resulted in both bodily injury or death and in the destruction of property, a combination of the amounts specified in subdivisions (a)(1)(A)-(C) of this section. (2) Determination shall not be made with respect to drivers or owners who are exempt under provisions of any other section of this chapter from the requirements as to security or suspension of motor vehicle registration and driving privilege. (b)(1) The office shall determine the amount of security deposit required of any person upon the basis of the reports or other information submitted. The office's determination shall be limited to whether the accident resulted in bodily injury or death to one (1) person or two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident or to injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident, or a combination of these. (2) In the event a person involved in an accident as described in this chapter fails to make a report or submit information indicating the existence of any injuries or damage to his or her property within thirty (30) days after the accident and the office has issued reasonable notice to the person if it is possible to give the notice, otherwise without notice, then the office shall not require any deposit of security for the benefit or protection of the person. (c) The office, no sooner than fifty (50) days after the date of an accident as referred to in this chapter, and upon determining the amount of security to be required of any person involved in the accident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved in the accident, shall give written notice to every person of the amount of security required to be deposited by him or her and then an order of suspension will be made upon the expiration of twenty (20) days after the sending of the notice unless within that time security is deposited as required by the notice.

Cross-references

Connections may be documented source relationships, shared citations or nearby passages. Each explains its basis; a connection alone does not establish applicability to your situation.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-19-605. Requirements as to policy or bond.

27-19-605. Requirements as to policy or bond. (a) No policy or bond shall be effective under § 27-19-604 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, nor unless the policy or bond is subject, if the accident resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of bodily injury or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident and subject to said limit for one (1) person, to a limit of not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, and if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one (1) accident. (b) No policy or bond shall be effective under § 27-19-604 with respect to any vehicle which was not registered in this state or was a vehicle which was registered elsewhere than in this state at the effective date of the policy or bond or the most recent renewal thereof, unless the insurance company or surety company issuing the policy or bond is authorized to do business in this state, or if the company is not authorized to do business in this state, unless it shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon the policy or bond arising out of an accident. (c) The Office of Driver Services may rely upon the accuracy of the information in a required report of an accident as to the existence of insurance or a bon

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-19-605

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 27-19-605. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.