Arkansas Legal Resource Navigator

27-16-801. Licenses generally — Validity periods — Contents — Fees — Disposition of moneys — Definitions.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-16-801. Licenses generally — Validity periods — Contents — Fees — Disposition of moneys — Definitions.

27-16-801. Licenses generally — Validity periods — Contents — Fees — Disposition of moneys — Definitions. (a)(1)(A) In a manner prescribed by the Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration, the Office of Driver Services shall issue: (i) Except as provided in subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section, a Class D license or a Class M license to each qualified applicant eighteen (18) or more years of age, for a period of eight (8) years, upon payment of twenty-four dollars ($24.00); (ii) An intermediate Class D license or an intermediate Class M license to each applicant between sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00); (iii) A learner's Class D license to each applicant between fourteen (14) and sixteen (16) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00); and (iv) A Class MD license to each qualified applicant, for a period of not more than two (2) years, upon payment of two dollars ($2.00). (B) A Class D license or a Class M license shall be issued for a period to be elected by the applicant of either four (4) years upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00) or eight (8) years upon payment of twenty-four dollars ($24.00) to a qualified applicant who: (i) Is seventy (70) or more years of age; and (ii) Has an expired Class D license or Class M license. (2)(A) Each applicant for a Class D license, Class M license, or Class MD license under § 27-16-704, § 27-16-807, or § 27-20-108 shall pay an examination fee of five dollars ($5.00) for each written examination taken. (B) The examination fee shall be remitted in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. (3) Each license shall include: (A) A distinguishing number assigned t

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-16-801

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. A text match is a research starting point; applicability is not established.

Issuing source page ↗

Authority boundary: historical statutory source snapshot not current law.

Open the recorded source website ↗

Record provenance

Stable record: arkansas_code:legal_authorities:27-16-801
Source file: gov.ar.code.title.27.odt
Pages: Not recorded – Not recorded
Passage SHA-256: 71d79816358a83b27348ad7139fc19edb2ee9b939f668607f5a54f2d4021d803

Source location: content.xml paragraph 6304

Stored source content

27-16-801. Licenses generally — Validity periods — Contents — Fees — Disposition of moneys — Definitions. (a)(1)(A) In a manner prescribed by the Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration, the Office of Driver Services shall issue: (i) Except as provided in subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section, a Class D license or a Class M license to each qualified applicant eighteen (18) or more years of age, for a period of eight (8) years, upon payment of twenty-four dollars ($24.00); (ii) An intermediate Class D license or an intermediate Class M license to each applicant between sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00); (iii) A learner's Class D license to each applicant between fourteen (14) and sixteen (16) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00); and (iv) A Class MD license to each qualified applicant, for a period of not more than two (2) years, upon payment of two dollars ($2.00). (B) A Class D license or a Class M license shall be issued for a period to be elected by the applicant of either four (4) years upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00) or eight (8) years upon payment of twenty-four dollars ($24.00) to a qualified applicant who: (i) Is seventy (70) or more years of age; and (ii) Has an expired Class D license or Class M license. (2)(A) Each applicant for a Class D license, Class M license, or Class MD license under § 27-16-704, § 27-16-807, or § 27-20-108 shall pay an examination fee of five dollars ($5.00) for each written examination taken. (B) The examination fee shall be remitted in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. (3) Each license shall include: (A) A distinguishing number assigned to the licensee; (B)(i) Except as provided under subdivisions (a)(3)(B)(ii) and (iii) of this section, the name, residence address, date of birth, and a brief description of the licensee. (ii) The following exceptions to providing a residence address and instead providing a post office box address shall be allowed at the option of the licensee: (a) If the licensee is a law enforcement officer; or (b) If the licensee is a victim of domestic violence or the dependent of a victim of domestic violence as provided under § 27-16-811. (iii) If the licensee is an elected prosecuting attorney, a duly appointed deputy prosecuting attorney, or a public defender, he or she may use a post office box address or his or her office address instead of his or her residence address; and (C) A space upon which the licensee may affix his or her signature. (4) The licensee shall affix his or her signature in ink in the space provided, and no license shall be valid until it shall have been so signed by the licensee. (5) At the time of initial issuance or at the time of renewal of a license, the distinguishing number assigned to the licensee for his or her license shall be a nine-digit number assigned to the specific licensee by the secretary. (6)(A) The office may offer an applicant with a valid Arkansas driver's license an additional option to view a digital copy of his or her driver's license on a mobile device or personal computer upon payment of ten dollars ($10.00). (B) The digital copy of the driver's license shall be available for view at any time until the expiration of the driver's license issued under subdivision (a)(1) of this section. (b)(1)(A) All licenses, as described in subsection (a) of this section, shall include a color photograph of the licensee, and the photograph shall be made a part of the license at the time of application. (B)(i) If the licensee is under eighteen (18) years of age at the time the license is issued, the license shall state that the licensee was under eighteen (18) years of age at the time of issuance. (ii) If the licensee is at least eighteen (18) years of age but under twenty-one (21) years of age at the time the license is issued, the license shall state that the licensee was under twenty-one (21) years of age at the time the license was issued. (2) A license may be valid without a photograph of the licensee when the commissioner is advised that the requirement of the photograph is either objectionable on the grounds of religious belief or the licensee is unavailable to have the photograph made. (3)(A) If a licensee has an illness that causes hair loss or is undergoing treatment for an illness that causes hair loss, the office shall give the licensee the option to use the photograph from the most recent driver's license on file with the office instead of having a new photograph taken if the licensee establishes that his or her hair loss is related to that illness or treatment. (B) To establish the relationship between the licensee's illness or treatment and the resulting hair loss, the licensee shall provide a statement from his or her treating physician. (C) This option can only be provided for one (1) renewal of the license to prevent obsolete photographs from being used. (c)(1) In addition to the license fee prescribed by subsection (a) of this section, the office shall collect a penalty equal to fifty percent (50%) of the amount thereof from each driver, otherwise qualified, who shall operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this state without a valid license. (2) The penalty shall be in addition to any other penalty that may be prescribed by law. (d)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (d)(2) of this section, all license fees collected under subsection (a) of this section shall be cash funds restricted in their use and shall be deposited into a bank selected by the Division of Arkansas State Police to the credit of the Division of Arkansas State Police Financing Fund. (2) The fees collected under subdivision (a)(6)(A) of this section shall be deposited into the State Treasury to the credit of the State Central Services Fund as direct revenue to be used by the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration to defray the cost of administering a digital copy of a driver's license under subdivision (a)(6) of this section. (e)(1) The office shall not charge an additional fee for the color photograph provided for in subsection (b) of this section for those applicants making a renewal application for the first time. (2) In addition to the regular license fee, a fee of two dollars ($2.00) shall be charged for all subsequent renewals. (3) All persons applying for an Arkansas license for the first time and all persons who are required to take the driver's written examination as provided for in this chapter shall be charged the additional fee of one dollar ($1.00). (4)(A) A person required to have his or her eyesight tested before initial licensing or upon subsequent license renewal as provided for in this chapter shall be charged an additional fee for a license validity period of either: (i) Four (4) years, in the amount of one dollar ($1.00); or (ii) Eight (8) years, in the amount of two dollars ($2.00). (B) An eyesight test for an applicant's subsequent license renewal shall be required every: (i) Eight (8) years if an applicant elects a license validity period of four (4) years; or (ii) Sixteen (16) years if a person elects a license validity period of eight (8) years. (5) Each learner's license and intermediate driver's license issued shall be distinctive from the regular driver's license issued to a person eighteen (18) years of age or older. (f) Moneys collected from the penalty fee provided in subsection (c) of this section and the fees provided in subsection (e) of this section shall be deposited into the State Treasury into the Constitutional Officers Fund and the State Central Services Fund, and the net amount shall be credited to the Department of Finance and Administration to be used to help defray the cost of the driver license program which shall be payable therefrom. (g)(1) In addition to the license fees imposed in subsections (a) and (e) of this section, a fee shall be charged for the issuance or renewal of a Class D, Class M, or Class MD license for a period of either: (A) Four (4) years, in the amount of six dollars ($6.00); or (B) Eight (8) years, in the amount of twelve dollars ($12.00). (2) The fees collected under this subsection shall be remitted to the State Treasury, there to be deposited as special revenues to the credit of the Division of Arkansas State Police Fund, to be used for the payment of health insurance premiums for uniformed employees of the Division of Arkansas State Police. (h)(1) As used in this subsection: (A) “Custody” means: (i) Being an inmate of the Division of Correction and housed in a facility operated by the Division of Correction; or (ii) Being an inmate of the Division of Community Correction and housed in a detention facility; and (B) “Eligible person” means a person who: (i) Is within one hundred eighty (180) days of release from custody; or (ii) Has been released from custody within the previous six (6) months. (2)(A) The office shall issue an identification card to an eligible person who has previously been issued an: (i) Arkansas identification card; or (ii) Arkansas driver's license and the driving privileges of the eligible person are suspended or revoked. (B) The office shall issue a driver's license to an eligible person who has previously been issued an Arkansas driver's license if the driving privileges of the eligible person are: (i) Not suspended or revoked; or (ii) Suspended or revoked solely as a result of an outstanding driver's license reinstatement fee imposed under the laws of this state. (3) The Division of Correction and the Division of Community Correction shall identify eligible persons to apply for a replacement or renewal driver's license or identification card. (4) Any fees for a replacement identification card under § 27-16-805 shall be waived for an eligible person. (5) If the office issues a driver's license to an eligible person under subdivision (h)(2)(B)(ii) of this section, the office shall waive the reinstatement fee.

Cross-references

Connections may be documented source relationships, shared citations or nearby passages. Each explains its basis; a connection alone does not establish applicability to your situation.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-16-704. Examinations of applicants.

27-16-704. Examinations of applicants. (a) Every applicant for a driver's license, except as otherwise provided in this chapter, shall be examined in accordance with the provisions of this section. (b)(1) The examination shall be held within not more than thirty (30) days from the date that application is made. (2) The examination shall include a test of the applicant's eyesight, ability to read and understand the highway traffic laws of this state, an actual demonstration of the applicant's ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle, and any further physical and mental examination deemed necessary by the Office of Driver Services to operate a motor vehicle safely upon the highways. (3) The test of the applicant's eyesight shall examine his or her visual acuity to read road signs and identify objects at a distance. (4) The applicant shall have a minimum uncorrected visual acuity of 20/40 for an unrestricted license and a minimum corrected visual acuity of 20/70 for a restricted license. The applicant's field of vision shall be at least one hundred forty degrees (140°) for a person with two (2) functional eyes and at least one hundred five degrees (105°) for a person with one (1) functional eye. (5) Applicants who fail the eyesight test shall be instructed that they should have their eyes examined by an eye care professional and secure corrective lenses, if necessary. (6) The test of the applicant's eyesight shall be made on an optical testing instrument approved under standards established by the Secretary of the Department of Finance and Administration and the Division of Arkansas State Police. (7) In addition, the applicant for a learner's license and an intermediate driver's license shall have the student's

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-16-704

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 27-16-704. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-16-807. Issuance to nonresident and military licensees.

27-16-807. Issuance to nonresident and military licensees. (a)(1) A person sixteen (16) years of age or older who shall present to the Office of Driver Services, or an authorized agent thereof, a valid driver's license issued to the person by another state or by a branch of the armed services of the United States that is currently valid or that expired not more than thirty-one (31) days prior to the date presented shall be issued an Arkansas driver's license if he or she: (A) Surrenders the license to the office; (B) Pays the license fee prescribed in § 27-16-801(a); (C) Pays the other fees required by § 27-16-801(e); (D) Pays a transfer fee of five dollars ($5.00); and (E) Is tested and passes the minimum requirements of the eyesight test prescribed in this chapter. (2) A person sixteen (16) years of age or older who shall present to the office a driver's license issued to the person by another state or by a branch of the United States Armed Forces that expired more than thirty-one (31) days prior to the date presented shall be issued an Arkansas driver's license if he or she: (A) Is the spouse of a member of the military who was living outside of the United States due to a military duty assignment of the person's spouse when the license expired; (B) Surrenders the license to the office; (C) Pays the license fee prescribed in § 27-16-801(a); (D) Pays the other fees required by § 27-16-801(e); (E) Pays a transfer fee of five dollars ($5.00); and (F) Is tested and passes the minimum requirements of the eyesight test prescribed in this chapter. (b) The five dollar ($5.00) transfer fee is to be paid in lieu of the fees prescribed by § 27-16-801(a)(1)(C), but shall be collected and deposited in the same manner as prescribed by § 27-16-801(d).

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-16-807

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 27-16-807. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-16-811. Exception to disclosing residence address — Address confidentiality program — Definition.

27-16-811. Exception to disclosing residence address — Address confidentiality program — Definition. (a) As used in this section, “licensee” means a person who is applying for, renewing, or requesting a change to his or her driver's license issued or to be issued under this chapter and who is: (1) The victim of domestic violence; or (2) The dependent of a victim of domestic violence. (b) A licensee shall qualify for the exception for disclosing a residence address under this section if he or she: (1) Presents a valid order of protection issued under the Domestic Abuse Act of 1991, § 9-15-101 et seq.; (2) Presents an affidavit in which the licensee states that he or she: (A) Is a victim of domestic violence, or is the dependent of a victim of domestic violence; or (B) Fears further acts of domestic violence, or resides with the victim of domestic violence and fears further acts of domestic violence against his or her parent, custodian, or guardian; and (3) Agrees to the terms of participation in the address confidentiality program. (c)(1) A licensee who participates in the address confidentiality program under this section shall be issued a driver's license that discloses a post office box address in lieu of his or her residence address. (2)(A) The licensee shall provide to the Department of Finance and Administration his or her residence address, which shall be kept on file with the department for as long as the licensee holds a license that displays a post office box in lieu of a residence address. (B) The licensee shall update his or her residence address and post office box address with the department if a change occurs. (3)(A) The department shall only disclose the residence address to a person who: (i) Presents a compelling reason for ac

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-16-811

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 27-16-811. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.

Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities

27-20-108. Operator's examination.

27-20-108. Operator's examination. (a) The Division of Arkansas State Police shall prescribe an appropriate examination to be taken by a person who desires to obtain a motorcycle operator's license as required by this subchapter. (b) The examination shall include: (1) A written examination designed to determine the applicant's knowledge of traffic laws, ordinances, rules, and regulations and other matters necessary to determine the applicant's knowledge of the operation of these motor vehicles; (2) A vision test under standards established in § 27-16-704 to determine whether the applicant's eyesight is adequate to safely operate the vehicle; (3) An actual road test designed to determine the applicant's familiarity with the controls of the motor vehicle and the applicant's ability to safely operate the motor vehicle both in and out of traffic. However, the road test shall be waived for applicants who have successfully completed the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's motorcycle rider course, Riding and Street Skills, or any successor curriculum. In order to qualify for this waiver, the applicant must submit proof of the course completion dated within ninety (90) days prior to the date of license application; and (4) Such other tests as the division may deem necessary to assure safe operations on the streets and highways of this state.

Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 27-20-108

Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 27-20-108. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.