Browse Arkansas Code titles and sections
15-75-305. Applicants for permits.
Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities
15-75-305. Applicants for permits.
(a)(1)(A)(i) Any person desiring to engage in the liquefied petroleum gas business in this state must file a formal application and supporting papers, together with a filing fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), with the Director of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board at least thirty (30) days prior to the approval of the application by the director.
(ii) Should the applicant be a corporation or partnership, copies of the articles of incorporation or partnership agreement, if any, shall accompany the application together with a certificate from the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration evidencing that all taxes due have been paid or otherwise negating state tax liability.
(iii) Application forms will be furnished by the director at any time upon request.
(B)(i) In determining whether to grant permits or certificates, the director shall be given a reasonable time in which to investigate the applicant.
(ii) If the permit or certificate is denied, the applicant shall be notified by registered mail.
(iii) The Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board shall review the director's decision on the approval of class one permit applications at its next regularly scheduled meeting.
(2)(A)(i) The director shall have the power and duty to receive, review, and approve applications for all classes of permits after applications and supporting papers have been filed with the director for at least thirty (30) days. The director may refuse to approve applications for permits for safety reasons.
(ii) The director may issue class one permits once all conditions and prerequisites have been met as set out in § 15-75-307 and the application has been approved by the board.
(iii) The director may issue class two through class ten permits
Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 15-75-305
Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. A text match is a research starting point; applicability is not established.
Issuing source page ↗
Authority boundary: historical statutory source snapshot not current law.
Open the recorded source website ↗
Record provenance
Stable record: arkansas_code:legal_authorities:15-75-305
Source file: gov.ar.code.title.15.odt
Pages: Not recorded – Not recorded
Passage SHA-256: 9ef81561013a518a38e44f6d0846c519d44af6380978d8f797fa7f4cb29dc1f2
Source location: content.xml paragraph 26120
Stored source content
15-75-305. Applicants for permits.
(a)(1)(A)(i) Any person desiring to engage in the liquefied petroleum gas business in this state must file a formal application and supporting papers, together with a filing fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), with the Director of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board at least thirty (30) days prior to the approval of the application by the director.
(ii) Should the applicant be a corporation or partnership, copies of the articles of incorporation or partnership agreement, if any, shall accompany the application together with a certificate from the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration evidencing that all taxes due have been paid or otherwise negating state tax liability.
(iii) Application forms will be furnished by the director at any time upon request.
(B)(i) In determining whether to grant permits or certificates, the director shall be given a reasonable time in which to investigate the applicant.
(ii) If the permit or certificate is denied, the applicant shall be notified by registered mail.
(iii) The Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board shall review the director's decision on the approval of class one permit applications at its next regularly scheduled meeting.
(2)(A)(i) The director shall have the power and duty to receive, review, and approve applications for all classes of permits after applications and supporting papers have been filed with the director for at least thirty (30) days. The director may refuse to approve applications for permits for safety reasons.
(ii) The director may issue class one permits once all conditions and prerequisites have been met as set out in § 15-75-307 and the application has been approved by the board.
(iii) The director may issue class two through class ten permits after application and supporting papers have been on file for at least thirty (30) days and all conditions and prerequisites for those permits have been met as set out in §§ 15-75-308 — 15-75-317.
(B) The board, at its regularly scheduled meetings, shall review the director's decisions on the approval of applications for class one permits. The board may refuse to issue permits for safety reasons.
(3) Any applicant aggrieved by a denial by the director or any person or group of persons who are aggrieved by safety concerns because of the issuance of the permits by the director after the board's approval may appeal the decision within thirty (30) days thereof, to the board by filing a notice of appeal with the board. The notice of appeal of the board's or director's decision shall be on a written form provided by the board. The notice of appeal shall suspend the action of the director in denying an application or in issuing or denying a permit until the next regular meeting of the board or until a special hearing by the board can be held.
(4) A meeting or hearing shall be held within at least thirty (30) days after the date of the filing of the notice of appeal unless the person appealing shall consent to a later hearing.
(5) Within five (5) days after the hearing is concluded, the board shall render its written decision on the appeal.
(6) The board is authorized on its own motion to review any action of the director in denying an application or in issuing or refusing to issue a permit and, upon review, to set aside any action of the director in any of these respects insofar as it pertains to safety issues.
(b) Applicants for class one permits, as defined in § 15-75-307, shall be present at the board meeting at which the review of the director's action on the application is to be considered.
(c) Before any application may be considered by the director and reviewed by the board, the applicant must have on file in the office of the director a certificate of intended insurance evidencing the kinds and amounts as required by this subchapter for the class of permit requested. After approval of the application and before the permit may be issued, a certificate of required insurance must be furnished bearing the clause, “The insurance company will notify the Director, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board, thirty (30) days prior to cancellation of the insurance referred to herein.” Binders by insurance agents are not acceptable for the purposes of this subchapter.
(d) All applicants must agree to provide adequate equipment and products which are satisfactory to the board.
(e) All persons in charge of operations and servicemen, installation men, and truck drivers must have a certificate of competency from the board. Each certificate of competency shall be renewed annually.
(f)(1) Applicants must have satisfactory experience in the liquefied petroleum gas business or have employed a recognized operator of the business with experience and competency. In order that the director or the board may be assured as to competency insofar as safety is concerned, applicants for permits to engage in the liquefied petroleum gas business generally shall qualify for new certificates of competency. One (1) or more employees who are to be engaged in the delivery and transportation of liquefied petroleum gas, and one (1) or more separate employees who are to be engaged in the installation of liquefied petroleum gas containers and systems, as well as a general safety supervisor, shall have a general knowledge of the characteristics of liquefied petroleum gases, as well as of their proper handling and utilization, along with a thorough knowledge and understanding of the National Fire Protection Association Pamphlet No. 58 and the State Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code covering the storage and handling of liquefied petroleum gases, as established by a current written or oral examination prepared and conducted by the director with the approval of the board.
(2) Applicants must agree to furnish whatever information the director or the board may require as to their ability to engage in the liquefied petroleum gas business and must also furnish whatever references the director or the board may require.
(g)(1) In order that the public or the user of liquefied petroleum gases may be assured of competent and efficient service to any container, system, or appurtenance, each dealer who has been issued a current permit or any applicant therefor in addition to competent gas delivery and transportation personnel, shall provide separate competent personnel for the installation and servicing of containers, systems, and appurtenances.
(2) In determining whether or not to grant a permit, the director and the board shall determine whether or not an applicant can provide safe and efficient service to the public or the users in the area in which liquefied petroleum gas operations are to be conducted.
(h) In addition to the foregoing requirements, applicants must also meet the additional requirements listed under the specific class of permit desired.
(i) All foreign corporations doing business in this state in any phase of the liquefied petroleum gas business must furnish evidence of their qualifications to do business in the state as a foreign corporation.
(j) In addition to the foregoing, the board shall have the power to make reasonable application requirements by rule and shall adopt rules as it shall deem necessary to govern the procedures in any hearing to review the issuance or denial of permits.
(k)(1) Applicants for a class one permit must attend a forty-hour basic course in liquefied petroleum gas, as prescribed by the board, prior to the board meeting at which the review of the final action on their application may be heard.
(2) All owners, managers or officials, and employees connected to or listed on the class one application must attend the basic training course prior to the board meeting at which the review of their application may be heard.
Cross-references
Connections may be documented source relationships, shared citations or nearby passages. Each explains its basis; a connection alone does not establish applicability to your situation.
Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities
15-75-307. Class one permit.
(a) The holder of a class one permit may engage in any phase of the liquefied petroleum gas business in a county or contiguous counties if he or she pays an annual permit fee of five hundred dollars ($500) for the first county under the permit and three hundred dollars ($300) for each contiguous county included under the permit.
(b) An applicant for a class one permit:
(1) Shall furnish to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board evidence of the following insurance:
(A) Manufacturers' and Contractors' Each Person $500,000 Bodily Injury Liability Each Accident 500,000 Insurance (B) Manufacturers' and Contractors' Each Accident $500,000 Property Damage Liability Aggregate 500,000 Insurance (C) Products Bodily Injury Each Person $500,000 Liability Insurance Each Accident 500,000 Aggregate 500,000 (D) Products Property Damage Each Person $500,000 Liability Insurance Aggregate 500,000 (E) Automobile Bodily Injury Each Person $500,000 Liability Insurance Each Accident 500,000 (F) Automobile Property Damage Each Accident $500,000 Liability Insurance
Click to view table.
(2)(A) Shall designate a county in this state for:
(i) The location of the proposed principal place of business of the applicant; and
(ii) The proposed location of the principal bulk storage tank facility; and
(B) Shall maintain a twenty-four-hour emergency telephone number;
(3)(A) Must provide a list of counties in which the operation is to be conducted.
(B)(i) The applicant shall designate within one (1) Arkansas county the location of the proposed principal place of business of the applicant and the proposed location of the principal bulk storage tank facility.
(ii) The designated county shall be the home county area of operation of the applicant.
(C) The permit
Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 15-75-307
Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 15-75-307. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities
15-75-308. Class two permit.
(a) The holder of a class two permit:
(1) May install liquefied petroleum gas piping and install and sell liquefied petroleum gas containers and appliances but may not deliver gas; and
(2) Must pay an annual permit fee in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100).
(b) The applicant for a class two permit:
(1) Must furnish evidence of the following insurance:
(A) Manufacturers' and Contractors' Each Person $250,000 Bodily Injury Liability Each Accident 500,000 Insurance (B) Manufacturers' and Contractors' Each Accident $250,000 Property Damage Liability Aggregate 500,000 Insurance (C) Products Bodily Injury Each Person $250,000 Liability Insurance Each Accident 500,000 Aggregate 500,000 (D) Products Property Damage Each Accident $250,000 Liability Insurance Aggregate 500,000
Click to view table.
(2) Must provide a certified or notarized financial statement which has been compiled within the past sixty (60) days;
(3) Must provide full-time employment of qualified personnel whose competency shall be proven through a current written or oral examination; and
(4) Must comply with all other applicable requirements for class two applicants.
Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 15-75-308
Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 15-75-308. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.
Arkansas Code — all titles (historical 2020) · legal_authorities
15-75-317. Approval prerequisite to supplying or acquiring certain equipment and products.
(a) No applicant for a permit shall purchase, lease, rent, or furnish any equipment or product which is subject to inspection or regulation by the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board until the application has been approved and authority to purchase has been granted by the Director of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board.
(b) No permit holder shall sell, lease, rent, or furnish any equipment or product which is subject to inspection or regulation by the board to any applicant until the application has been approved and the authority to purchase has been granted by the director.
Source: Arkansas Code — historical release 78 (November 6, 2020) · 15-75-317
Stored review status: Historical 2020-11-06 source release; later amendments not reconciled; machine-extracted, not independently legally reviewed; source heading status: text_in_historical_source. The source passage cites 15-75-317. This identifies an authority to review, not proof of applicability.